Making Democracy Work

Who Represents Oakland?

How to contact your elected officials

Where Do I Start?

Check out your Alameda County Registrar of Voters Voter Profile. Your profile contains your:
  • voter registration information
  • polling place
  • status of your vote by mail ballot
  • elected officials....and more!

    Also, see LWVO's pamphlet Who Represents Oakland?
  • City of Oakland

    Oakland City Hall, #1 Frank H. Ogawa Plaza  Oakland CA  94612
    http://www.oaklandnet.com
    MAYOR Libby Schaaf
    Email:officeofthemayor@oaklandnet.com
    http://www2.oaklandnet.com/Government/o/Mayor/index.htm

    Oakland City Council
    President: Lynette Gibson McElhaney
    Vice Mayor: Annie Campbell Washington
    http://www2.oaklandnet.com/government/o/CityCouncil/index.htm

    Find your City Council district

    City Attorney   Barbara Parker   6th Floor
    238-3601  Fax 238-6500   TTY 238-3254
    Email: bparker@oaklandcityattorney.org
    Web: http://www.oaklandcityattorney.org
    City Auditor    Brenda Roberts   4th Floor
    238-3378    Fax: 238-7640   TDD 238-3254
    Email: cityauditor@oaklandnet.com
    Web: http://www.oaklandauditor.com

    APPOINTED OFFICIALS
    City Administrator    Sabrina Landreth  3rd Floor
    238-3301   Fax: 238-2223   TTY: 238-3724
    Email: cityadministrator@oaklandnet.com
    City Clerk   LaTonda Simmons   2nd Floor
    238-3612   Fax: 238-6699   TTY: 238-6451
    Email: cityclerk@oaklandnet.com

    Elections/Political Reporting    2nd Floor
    Tamika Thomas 238-7369   Email: TThomas@oaklandnet.com
    Records Manager  Deidre Scott   1st Floor
    238-3624   Fax: 238-2228   TTY: 839-6451
    Public Ethics Commission   Whitney Barazoto, Exec. Dir. 11th Floor
    238-6620    Fax: 238-3315   TTY 238-3724
    Email: ethicscommission@oaklandnet.com
    Citizen's Police Review Board   Anthony Finnell, Exec. Dir.  
    250 Frank Ogawa Plaza Suite 6302, Oakland 94612
    238-3159  Email: afinnell@oaklandnet.com
     Port of Oakland  Chris Lytle, Exec. Dir.   530 Water St., Oakland 94607
    627-1100  http://www.portofoakland.com

    OAKLAND UNIFIED SCHOOL DISTRICT
    Superintendent's Office,   1000 Broadway, Suite 680
    Oakland CA  94607
    434-7790  
    http://www.ousd.org
    Other department addresses can be found at http://www.ousd.org/Page/9851
    Superintendent: Antwan Wilson
    434-7790    Email: Antwan.Wilson@ousd.org
    State Trustee:  Carlene Naylor
    434-7790    Email: Carlene.Naylor@ousd.k12.ca.us
    BOARD OF EDUCATION
    Voice Mail: 879-8199   Fax: 879-8000   TTY: 879-8739
    boe@ousd.org
    The Board meets on the 2nd and 4th Wednesdays of the month in the Great Room, La Escuelita Ed. Center, 1050 2nd Ave. For meeting schedules, check web site http://bex.ousd.k12.ca.us/CALENDAR.htm or call ahead. Agendas, minutes and legislative files can be found at this web address http://www.ousd.org/domain/67
    District Name Email
    1 Jody London jody.london@ousd.org
    2 Aimee Eng aimee.eng@ousd.org
    3 Jumoke Hinton-Hodge jumoke.hodge@ousd.org
    4 Nina Senn nina.senn@ousd.org
    5 Roseann Torres roseann.torres@ousd.org
    6 Shanthi Gonzales shanthi.gonzales@ousd.org
    7 James Harris jamesharris@ousd.org
    student directors    
      Carmen Jimenez carmen.jimenez@ousd.org
      Katebah Al-Olefi katebah.al-olefi@ousd.org

    Alameda County

    The Alameda County Official Website is http://www.acgov.org

    BOARD OF SUPERVISORS
    Admin. Bldg.,   1221 Oak St.,Room 536   Oakland, CA 94612    272-6347
    The Board meets Tuesdays, 9:00 AM in the Board Chambers Administration Building, 5th Floor. Call ahead or check website.
    Dist. Area Name Phone Fax Email
    3 Chinatown, San Antonio, Fruitvale and Melrose areas of Oakland; Alameda, San Leandro, San Lorenzo Wilma Chan Vice President 272-6693 268-8004 District3@acgov.org
    4 Oakland: lower hills, south hills and Elmhurst areas; Pleasanton, Castro Valley, Cherryland, Fairview, Ashland Nathan A. Miley
    272-6694 465-7628 District4@.acgov.org
    5 West and north Oakland, Rockridge and the north hills area of Oakland; Albany, Emeryville, Piedmont Keith Carson
    272-6695 271-5151 Dist5@acgov.org
    Clerk of the Board     Anika Campbell-Belton

       1221 Oak St., Room 555, Oakland 94612
       272-3898   834-6734 TTY campbell-belton@acgov.org

    ALAMEDA COUNTY OFFICIALS
    http://www.acgov.org
    Administrator Susan Muranishi
    1221 Oak St., 5th Fl., Oakland 94612
    272-6984   272-3784 Fax
    Assessor Ron Thomsen
    1221 Oak St., Rm 145, Oakland 94612
    272-3787   272-3803 Fax
    County Counsel Donna Zeigler
    1221 Oak St., Rm 450, Oakland 94612
    272-6700   272-5020 Fax
    District Attorney Nancy E. O'Malley
    1225 Fallon St., Rm 900, Oakland 94612
    272-6222   271-5157 Fax
    Recorder Patrick O'Connell
    1106 Madison St., Oakland 94607
    272-6565 TDD 444-1396
    Registrar of Voters Tim Dupuis
    1225 Fallon St., Rm. G-1, Oakland 94612
    272-6933  272-6982  Fax   TDD 208-4967
    Treasurer/Tax Collector Donald R. White
    1221 Oak St., Rm. 131, Oakland 94612
    272-6801   272-6807 Fax

    ALAMEDA COUNTY BOARD OF EDUCATION
    313 W. Winton Avenue, Rm. 150, Hayward 94544
    http://www.acoe.org  887-0152
    See the website for the schedule of board meetings
    Area 1 N. Oakland Joaquin J. Rivera 670-4145 Email: jrivera@acoe.org
    Area 2 West, East Amber Childress 670-4145 Email: achildress@acoe.org
    Area 3 N.Central Oak. Ken Berrick 670-4145 Email: kberrick@acoe.org
    Schools Superintendent Karen Monroe

       670-4140   670-4101 Fax
       Email: "lkmonroe@acoe.org"<mailto: lkmonroe@acoe.org >

    Special Districts

    PERALTA COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT
    http://www.peralta.edu
    College of Alameda    555 Ralph Appezzato Ave., Alameda 94501 522-7221
    Laney College 900 Fallon St., Oakland 94607 834-5740
    Merritt College 12500 Campus Dr., Oakland 94619 531-4911
    Berkeley City College    2050 Center Street, Berkeley 94704 981-2800
    Chancellor: Dr. Jowel C. Laguerre
    333 E. 8th St., Oakland CA 94606
    466-7202
    BOARD OF TRUSTEES
    466-7203   466-0604 Fax
    The Board meets on selected Tuesdays, at 7 PM
    333 E. 8th St., Board Room. Call Ahead or check website.
    Meetings broadcast on Cable Channel 28.
    Area (*Part of the area falls within Oakland)
    1* Bill Withrow bwithrow@peralta.edu
    2* Meredith Elayne Brown, Pres. mbrown@peralta.edu
    3* Linda Handy lhandy@peralta.cc.ca.us
    4 Nicky Gonzalez Yuen ngonzalezyuen@peralta.edu
    5* Dr. William "Bill" Riley VP wriley@peralta.edu
    6* Cy Gulassa cgulassa@peralta.edu
    7* Julina Bonilla jbonilla@peralta.edu
    student trustee Adrien Abuyen aabuyen@peralta.edu
    student trustee Justin Hyche jhyche@peralta.edu

    AC TRANSIT
    1600 Franklin, Oakland 94612
    891-4777    891-7157 Fax
    http://www.actransit.org
    General Manager   Michael A. Hursh   891-4753   891-4705 Fax
    Email: mhursh@actransit.org
    AC TRANSIT DIRECTORS FOR OAKLAND    891-7284
    The Board meets at 6 PM on the 2nd and 4th Wednesdays of the month, in the 2nd floor Board Room.
    Ward 2 Greg Harper, President    891-7145 420-8913 Fax Email: gharper@actransit.org
    Ward 3 Elsa Ortiz
    891-7211 891-4705 Fax Email: eortiz@actransit.org
    At Large H.E. Christian Peoples 891-7151 658-1425 Fax Email: cpeoples@actransit.org
    At Large Joel Young
    891-7146 891-4705 Fax Email: jyoung@actransit.org

    BAY AREA RAPID TRANSIT (BART)
    300 Lakeside Drive, Oakland 94612    464-6000
    http://www.BART.gov
    General Manager Grace Crunician   464-6060
    BOARD OF DIRECTORS for OAKLAND    464-6095
    The Board meets at 9 AM on the 2nd and 4th Thursdays of the month January - October. Nov.-3rd Thurs, Dec-1st& 3rd, in the Kaiser Center 20th Street Mall, Third Floor, 344 20th St.
    District 3 Rebecca Saltzman 464-6095 Email: boardofdirectors@bart.gov
    District 4 Robert Raburn 464-6095 Email: robertraburn@covad.net
    District 7 Zakhary Mallett 464-6095 Email: boardofdirectors@bart.gov

    EAST BAY MUNICIPAL UTILITY DISTRICT (EBMUD)
    375 11th Street Oakland CA 94607   1-866-403-2683   
    Alexander Coate, General Manager
    http://www.ebmud.com
    BOARD OF DIRECTORS FOR OAKLAND
       287-0404   287-0555 Fax
    The Board meets on the 2nd & 4th Tuesdays of the month at 1:15 PM
    in the second floor Board Room at 375 11th Street.
    Ward 3 Marguerite Young mryoung@ebmud.com
    Ward 4 Andy Katz akatz@ebmud.com
    Ward 5 Doug Linney dlinney@ebmud.com
    Ward 6 William B. Patterson wpatters@ebmud.com

    EAST BAY REGIONAL PARK DISTRICT
    2950 Peralta Oaks Court   Oakland CA 94605-0381
    562-2757 (recorded info)   1-888-327-2757    http://www.ebparks.org
    General Manager Robert E. Doyle  bdoyle@ebparks.org
    BOARD OF DIRECTORS FOR OAKLAND
    544-2020    569-1417 Fax
    The Board meets at 2 PM on the 1st and 3rd Tuesdays in the Board Room at 2950 Peralta Oaks Court.
    Ward 2 John Sutter 597-1440
    531-5420 Fax
    Email: jsutter@ebparks.org
    Ward 4 Douglas Siden 523-8157
    864-2943 Fax
    Email: dsiden@ebparks.org

    California

    GOVERNOR Jerry Brown (D)
    State Capitol, Suite 1173, Sacramento CA 95814
    (916) 445-2841 (916) 558-3160 Fax
    http://www.gov.ca.gov
     
    SECRETARY OF STATE Alex Padilla (D)
    1500 11th St, Sacramento CA 95814
    (916) 653-6814
    http://www.sos.ca.gov

    STATE LEGISLATURE
    Go to http://findyourrep.legislature.ca.gov, or call the Alameda County Registrar of Voters, 272-6973, to determine your district.
     
    SENATE ASSEMBLY
    Senate Post Office Assembly Post Office
    State Capitol State Capitol
    Sacramento CA 95814 Sacramento CA 94249
    http://www.senate.ca.gov http://www.assembly.ca.gov
     
    STATE SENATOR FOR OAKLAND   District 9   Loni Hancock (D)
    Oakland Office: 1515 Clay Street, Room 2202
    Oakland, CA 94612
    286-1333     286-3885 Fax
    Sacramento Office: State Capitol, Room 2082
    Sacramento, CA 95814   (916)651-4009    (916)651-4909 Fax   
    Email: Senator.Hancock@sen.ca.gov
    Here is the web page for State Senate District 9
     
    ASSEMBLY MEMBERS FOR OAKLAND
    District 15 * Tony Thurmond (D)
    * Includes parts of Oakland (Rockridge, Montclair Hills as far south as the intersection of Joaquin Miller and Skyline, Dimond, Oakmore, Shepherd's Canyon, Piedmont Pines).
    Here is a map of his district
    Oakland Office: 1515 Clay Street, Suite 2201, Oakland, CA 94612
    286-1400    286-1406 Fax
    Sacramento Office: State Capitol, Room 3160
    P.O. Box 942849, Sacramento, CA 94249-0015
    (916) 319-2015    (916) 319-2115 Fax
    Email: Assemblymember.Thurmond@assembly.ca.gov
    http://asmdc.org/members/a15
    District 18 ** Rob Bonta (D)
    ** Includes Alameda; much of Oakland (West, Central and East); San Leandro.
    Here is a map of his district
    1515 Clay Street, Suite 2204
    Oakland CA 94612
    286-1670    286-1888 Fax
    Sacramento Office: State Capitol, Room 6025
    P.O. Box 942849, Sacramento, CA 94249-0018
    (916) 319-2018     (916) 319-2118 Fax
    Email: Assemblymember.Bonta@assembly.ca.gov
    http://asmdc.org/members/a18

    United States

    The White House, Washington, DC
    President Donald Trump (R)
    Vice President Mike Pence (R)
    http://www.whitehouse.gov

    THE CONGRESS
    U.S. SENATE http://www.senate.gov
    Kamala Harris(D) https://www.harris.senate.gov/
    Dianne Feinstein (D) http://www.feinstein.senate.gov/public/
    U.S. HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES http://www.house.gov
    Barbara Lee (D)
    District 13: Alameda, Albany, Berkeley, Emeryville, Oakland, Piedmont and San Leandro
    http://www.lee.house.gov

    Click here for a list of all federal agencies in Washington, DC!